Lead Dog

Our class was wild over our two week literacy unit surrounding the Iditarod Sled Dog Race!  We challenged our favorite musher by counting each page we read during the race as a mile on our giant map of Alaska.  We devoured all kinds of fiction and nonfiction mushing books. We discovered more about nonfiction graphic sources, and we ended every day dancing to “I Did, I Did, I Did the Iditarod Trail.”

 

Lead Dog

 

I am the one who pulls the sled.

I run like the wind.

I am the one who chases the bear away.

Who am I?

I am the speedy lead dog.

1 thought on “Lead Dog

  1. I love dogs, and this poem is great! I know that lead dogs are by far the most important dog in the pack it takes the other dogs everywhere right? Did this just pop up in your mind or did you have to think about it for a little bit?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *